Thursday, October 7, 2010

Finally up to date

Okay, time to actually catch up on what we´ve been up to now that we have to wait an hour to even leave for the bus station.
On monday, in Mendoza; the area well known for it´s Malbecs, we decided to go on a wine tour. This was no regular wine tour, this was a wine tour on bikes, in the Argentinian streets. We started off with two friends from Mar del Plata, Argentina and were joined by two Canadians; Brad and Lucy from Ottawa. And let me tell you .... these bikes .... were the least comfy I´ve ever been on in my entire life. The seats were made for alien people, not for human usage. At the first winery we got to sample three wines and have a tour of the wine making area (they used cement tanks to ferment the grapes.) After this cool experience we got our bikes to begin our trek to the next winery .... but alas .... Jenn´s bike had a flat tire .... Those of you who know Jennifer will know that this comes as no surprise. So after waiting for the guy to bring her a new bike we got to follow him everywhere and not have to look at the map once, which was a relief after a couple more wine tours. All in all it was an amazing trip! The whole day was spent drinking wine, riding our bikes, dodging traffic, making videos and then ended with a all you can eat BBQ and yet more wine.
Moving onto our wednesday experiences .... we spent the whole day wandering the city and getting to know it´s beauty. Mendoza is known for always being sunny (the best two qualities! Wine and sun!) At 8pm we arrived at the bus station and were searching for our bus, expecting a greyhound type of transportation. We found our platform #27 and found a hotel on wheels ... no joke. This thing was straight out of a dream: double decker, shiny black, red leather reclining seats, spacious sitting areas, an attendant and this was just walking in and what we saw. We sat down in our seats (front row, top deck, ceiling to floor windows all around, tv, dinner, wine AND champagne.) And no .... this wasn´t a dream!
So 11 hours later we were in Rosario and walked 5km, packs and all to our hostel at 7 in the morning (we were NOT expecting this.) We spent the day doing more walking around the city. The sights were amazing, the buildings have such incredible architecture, the river view is dirty, but so pretty and the people are so friendly. In fact more than once people would stop to talk to us, just while we were walking down the street.
Side note: Jeremy´s goal is to buy a pair of breifs from every country we visit. From here he bought some blue ones from one of the many super attractive women here. I´m thinking maybe we should post pics of him in each pair .... what do you think?
And of course we met some more people from Holland, and a guy from Brazil. They were amazing at planning our trip, but couldn´t plan their own.
Today we enjoyed a day of walking, seeing the sites of Rosario, reading spanish books (we´ve both finished about a paragraph each.) And are about to go to Cordoba and then to Alta Gracia.
For .... OKTOBERFEST!!! Yes .... in Argentina. We´ll update you on how it goes.
Peace and Love
Jenn & Jeremy
ps I know I keep on switching the point of view (1st person etc) buuuut it´s difficult writing for 2 people!
pps we still haven´t found internet fast enough to upload pictures .... we´ll make that a goal ... soon.

1 comment:

  1. Hey, I was in Mar del Plata. My host family had an apartment there and I spent a couple weeks there. It was pretty cool.

    And I remember dinners not starting until at least 8pm, and you NEVER arrive on time. If you are an hour late you are still early.

    Can't wait to see pics!!! :)

    ReplyDelete