Thursday, November 4, 2010

Playing Catch-up with blogging

The plan was to have a quiet night in Buenos Aires, go to bed early and wake up at 7 am to go to the zoo so that we could make the 4:30 ferry to Uruguay. This would have worked without any flaws if we hadn´t drank two bottles of wine, a little bottle of scotch and an equally sized bottle of vodka. Instead of our early night, we set off for the club at 2 am. Needless to say, after a toga party, we all woke up to two British girls running around, loudly exclaiming how they were late for checkout .... That meant we were as well. So instead of going to an extremely inhumane zoo, where they drug the animals so that you can pet them, we hopped onto the train to El Tigre and made our way to Uruguay.
El Tigre was beautiful, it had a nice vibe, the kind you can only get on the coast. The river was the sweet colour of chocolate milk, and it was very evident that it was full of toxic waste due to the many dead fish floating around.
After a boat trip that was longer than expected and a bus trip that included being detained for an hour due to a tip to the cops that someone was smuggling coke ....
We finally made it to Montevideo at 12:30 am, got a quick dinner of two burgers and fries each and slept in a super homey hostel.

Our one goal in Montevideo: eat obscenely large steaks .... and let me tell you: they were OBSCENE. The hardest thing we did that day was finish those steaks.
If I had to sum Montevideo up in one word: Steak.